Thursday, June 7, 2012

37 people named to work force on west Louisville violence

LOUISVILLE, KY. (WDRB) -- Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer named 37 people on Thursday to a work group meant to find a way to reduce violence in west Louisville. It's also supposed to develop the community's resources into a single approach to help revitalize the area.

U of L Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Dr. Blaine Hudson chairs the group, with Dr. LaQuandra Nesbitt, the director of the Department of Health and Wellness as a co-chair.

The group will meet for the first time on June 18th at the Mayor's Gallery in Metro Hall. The mayor asked the group to finish its initial work by October. That includes making an inventory of programs and charities that provide services to young people in west Louisville. Those groups are being asked to complete a survey at by June 15th.

But the mayor cautioned, "The problem of violence in all American cities, including Louisville, didn't start yesterday and it won't be solved tomorrow."

The other work group members are:

Darrell Aniton, Louisville Metro Office of Youth Development

Merv Aubespin, retired Courier-Journal editor and author

Reverend Pedro Basden, Quinn Chapel AME

Col. Kenton Buckner, LMPD

Dr. Kevin Cosby, pastor of St. Stephen's Church

Bob Cunningham, civil rights leader

Raoul Cunningham, President of Louisville NAACP

Ralph De Chabert, Diversity Director for Brown Forman Corporation and Chair of Ali Center Board

Christopher 2X, community activist

Judge Sean Delahanty, District Court Judge

Waymon Eddings, Chair for the Parkland Community Advisory Board

Judge Brian Edwards, Circuit Court Judge

Tad Hughes, University of Louisville Southern Police Institute

Dana Jackson-Thompson, Executive Director for Network Center for Community Change

Councilman David James, who represents Old Louisville and parts of west Louisville

Rev. Vincent James, Elim Baptist Church, located in the Parkland Neighborhood

Dr. Ricky Jones, University of Louisville, Department of Pan African Studies

Eleanor Jordan, President of the Parkland Neighborhood Improvement Association

James Leavell, Urban League, Reentry Programming

Dr. Renee Mapp, Executive Director for Wesley House Community Services

John Marshall, JCPS Diversity Director

Rhonda Mathis, Community Activist

State Rep. Darryl Owens

Troy Pitcock, Louisville Metro Police Foundation

Neal Robertson, community and neighborhood leader

Christina Shadle, Greater Louisville Inc.

Councilman David Tandy, who represents downtown and parts of west Louisville

Steve Tarver, President and CEO of YMCA Greater Louisville

Sam Watkins, President of Louisville Central Community Centers

Lavel White, Connected Voices youth leader

Richard Whitlock, Getting All People

Jack Will, Executive Director for Jefferson County League of Cities

Aubrey Williams, Sr., attorney

Sylvia Wright, Shawnee Weed & Seed

Dr. Tony Zipple, President & CEO of Seven Counties Services

No comments:

Post a Comment